Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

messy women's closet ready for spring cleaning

Spring Cleaning and time to take stock of my warmer weather wardrobe! Now that it has (dare I say it?) FINALLY stopped snowing here in New England I can start thinking about lighter clothes, springy skirts and short sleeves. As a “mature woman” (though the term unpleasantly makes me think “old lady” and is neither fun nor spirited, which I believe most of us are!) there are certain fashions that sadly can no longer grace my “mature” figureJ. I can safely say my curvier self no longer looks “cute” or “sexy” in short-shorts, miniskirts or bikinis. I don’t feel more time in the gym would totally correct this problem for me. And I am clearly stating this “For Me” as I have lots of friends and acquaintances who still look fantastic in these fashions! I am just no longer one of them.

I have always had what is referred to as a more “womanly or curvier figure”, even when I could spend hours in the gym and had gravity and youth on my side. They have since defected and I’ve had a couple kids, which forever changes a body in many large and subtle ways. Ask even the most fit, active mom you can find and she will tell you about the inevitable “pregnancy pooch” that stayed long after the baby started walking…and driving. So, with rounder edges, not much height (I’m 5’ 2” ish), and a busy, varied lifestyle I look for colors and lines that are slimming, figure flattering and easy to care for. Any Mom will tell you that kids killed their ability to wear “Dry Clean ONLY” clothing!

When shopping, I look for fashions that make me feel confident and comfortable wearing them. This means that they have to hide my flaws; most of us have some, and accentuate the positives and just look great in general. It’s also a plus to find clothes that can go from business, to casual, to dressy. I love when I can wear a dress to work, then to parent teacher conference and then to a cocktail party with maybe just a shoe and accessory change. Some of my favorite items are:

Perfect Fit Black Pants: Everyone must own a few pairs! They can be straight or wide leg and must be a perfect fit. I love them and have them in winter and summer weight wool and cotton blends. They are comfortable and can do more than double duty for all occasions, all you have to do is mix up tops, jackets and shoes. You can build an outfit for the board room or the benefit in the ballroom! There is usually a new, trendier style to try each season. You can never go wrong with the classic styles either.

Dark Wash Jeans: My absolute favorite, “Go To” item! They can go anywhere; out to dinner dressed up with heels and a sexy top, to work with a crisp shirt and jacket or casual with boots and a T! I am a fan of a mid-rise or not too low, low rise (remember that après prego pooch!) for comfort and in boot cut to make my legs look longer. Depending on what you pair them with you can go anywhere and look great!

Maxi Skirts/Dresses: These are great all year round, but especially in spring and summer! They look great with heels or flats and can be worn to work, brunch or the beach. I really like them in neutral colors like black, grey and tan because I can wear a similar colored shoe to get that leg lengthening effect I like. They are a dream to pack, wrinkles fall away when you hang them and they can be worn anywhere. For one with great versatility that I like, check out UCW Boutique for the Long Black Maxi-Dress That Converts to Maxi Skirt. It goes from dress to skirt by folding the top down and can be dressed up or down for any occasion. It is incredibly comfortable and flattering, two of my must haves!

black maxi dress that converts into skirt

Tunic Tops: I just love hip skimming tunic tops! They flatter most figure types, are very comfortable and can be very versatile. They look great with jeans, leggings or pants. I like to pair mine with low rise jeans to hide underwear peek-a-boo debacles and muffin topJ. They can be worn alone or layered to create all different looks; some with the right length can even double as a beach cover. A great one from UCW Boutique is the Black Lace Chemise/Top/Cover Up-Scandal! Pair it with a cami or tank and you have a sexy top for a night out or wear it over your favorite swimsuit at the pool. It has an amazing, flattering fit!

black lace coverupBlackFloralShearTop (4 of 5)

So now you know what this “Mature Woman” really looks for in fashionJ. Some of you may notice that I did not specifically mention “Shoes”. That is because while I love the clothing types and styles above, I absolutely LOVE shoes! They really need, and deserve, their own post….‘Till next time, thanks for reading!

